West Africa Division

The West Africa Division covers five priority countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger and Chad. It works for rural development and food security, local governance and decentralisation, and for basic education and vocational education and training. To facilitate regional integration, the division works together with professional organisations and think-tanks. It acts as a centre of expertise for basic education. It also fosters international political dialogue and exchanges with Swiss stakeholders, in particular the Swiss Network for Education and International Cooperation (RECI). Furthermore, the division coordinates Switzerland's work with the African Development Bank, a major partner in this region for the SDC.