Swiss contribution to selected EU member states

Young trainees working together at a workbench.
Funds flow directly into projects, such as the training of young professionals seen here in Sofia, Bulgaria. © SDC

Switzerland's second contribution to selected EU member states is an investment in Europe’s security, stability and prosperity and is thus in Switzerland's interest. With the second Swiss contribution, Switzerland is also strengthening and deepening bilateral relations with its partner countries and the EU as a whole.  

The second contribution matches the value of the enlargement contribution, i.e. CHF 1.302 billion over a ten-year period. It will be channelled into selected projects and programmes in the partner countries and will not be transferred directly into their budgets or to the EU. By focusing on vocational education and training and on migration, the second Swiss contribution can help to address challenges Europe is currently facing – challenges which also affect Switzerland.

Cohesion framework credit

Switzerland has earmarked CHF 1.102 billion for the 13 EU Member States that have joined the EU since 2004, namely Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovakia and Slovenia (EU-13). The contribution is intended to strengthen cohesion, with a particular focus on the priority area of vocational education and training. The funding may also be invested in other areas such as research and innovation, welfare and healthcare systems, public safety, civic involvement and transparency, environmental and climate protection and SME financing, in line with the priorities set by the partner countries and Switzerland. 

Migration framework credit

CHF 200 million will be used for migration-related measures in countries which are particularly affected by migration movements. The contribution can therefore also benefit EU member states outside the EU-13, and will be used by Switzerland to support measures to improve the management of migratory movements.



  • Signing of the bilateral implementation agreements with the partner states (from September)
  • Signing of the legally non-binding Memorandum of Understanding MoU on the second Swiss contribution with the EU (30 June)
  • Signing of the bilateral implementation agreements with the partner states (Framework credit cohesion: Bulgaria, Estonia, Croatia, Malta, Poland, Romania, Hungary and Cyprus / Framework credit migration: Greece and Cyprus)


  • Parliament releases second Swiss contribution (removal of non-discrimination condition) 30 September)
  • Adoption by the Federal Council of a dispatch to release the second Swiss contribution (removal of non-discrimination condition, 11 August)


  • Parliamentary approval of cohesion and migration framework credits (containing non-discrimination condition, 3 December)


  • Adoption of the dispatch on the second Swiss contribution by the Federal Council (28 September)