Switzerland and other non-proliferation institutions in Vienna

Switzerland's activities to promote the non-proliferation of nuclear technology outside the IAEA and the CTBTO.

In addition to its work for the IAEA and the CTBTO, Switzerland is also active in the following institutions based in Vienna:

  • Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG), to contribute to the non-proliferation of nuclear weapons through the implementation of guidelines on the export of nuclear materials and materials that can be used in nuclear technology
  • Wassenaar Arrangement, on the export controls for conventional arms and dual-use goods and technologies
  • Zangger Committee, to harmonise the interpretation of nuclear export control policies for Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT) Parties
  • The Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation that regularises the area of ballistic missiles which could be capable of carrying weapons of mass destruction.

Additional information