Regional Consular Centre Southern Africa

Consular Services

In view of the current situation regarding the COVID-19 pandemic, the Regional Consular Centre (RCC) in Pretoria has adapted its activities and opening hours.

The reception desk of the RCC  is now again open from Monday to Friday between 9:00 and 12:00. An appointment must be arranged previously for passport application, marriage preparation and application for Swiss citizenship

Passport/ID card applications: the RCC is now in a position to process passport/ID card applications again. Applications will be processed in order of receipt. Please submit your online applicaiton on and wait until you receive the invitation to book an appointment.

Life and marital status certificates for the AVS/AHV: for the time being, all life and marital status certificates can be signed by the pensioners themselves and returned by E-mail to the Swiss Compensation Office (SCO) in Geneva without an official stamp:; together with a copy of a valid identity document. If you haven't received the life certificate, you may download it hereFor foreign pensioners: as soon as the situation allows, the SCO in Geneva requires a life certificate confirmed by a recognized authority. The concerned persons will receive a letter to this effect aft ther SCO has received the self-declaration. There is currently no time limit, as the situation varies from country to country. For further questions, you may also contact the SCO by phone: +41 58 461 91 11.

The RCC in Pretoria appreciates your understanding in these challenging times.

COVID-19, Travel to Switzerland and information on the situation and measures in South Africa

For more information please click here

Important information for Swiss nationals living abroad

In order for us to provide you with the latest information from Switzerland at all times, please always inform us of all address changes (including e-mail addresses) through the online desk or by sending an email to

Services and visa

All consular services for the South African provinces of Gauteng, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Mpumalanga, North-West and Free State, as well as for the states of Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe, have been provided by the Regional Consular Centre Southern Africa in Pretoria, which is attached to the local Embassy of Switzerland.

The Consulate General in Cape Town continues to be responsible for the South African provinces of the Eastern Cape, Northern Cape and Western Cape.

All Visa applications are handled by the Regional Consular Center Southern Africa in Pretoria.

Information can be found on the websites concerned:

Services – South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mauritius
Visa – South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mauritius



Contact the responsible Swiss representation for identity papers, civil status, registration and deregistration, matters of civil status, etc...

Visa – Entry to and residence in Switzerland

Information on requirements to enter Switzerland and to take residence, procedure to submit an entry visa application, visa application form and fees


Local and international news and events related to the country