Directorates and Divisions

Alongside the General Secretariat and State Secretariat, there are six directorates with responsibility for various aspects of the FDFA’s remit. They carry out their work not only at the organisational units based at head office in Bern, but also through the network of Swiss representations, which includes embassies, consulates, cooperation offices and missions.

Directorate of Political Affairs

The Directorate of Political Affairs gauges global challenges, develops foreign policy strategy and tries to identify areas of tension or potential flashpoints.

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation

The SDC implements the Federal Council's foreign policy strategy in the areas of humanitarian aid, development cooperation and cooperation with Eastern Europe, as well as in regional and global cooperation.

Directorate of International Law

The Directorate of Public International Law ensures that Switzerland fulfils its obligations and is pro-active around the world in promoting respect for and the further development of international law.

Directorate for European Affairs (DEA)

The Directorate for European Affairs is the federal government's centre of expertise for all matters concerning EU integration.

Consular Directorate

The Consular Directorate ensures the optimum level of public service for Swiss nationals abroad. The FDFA Helpline takes calls round the clock. (+41 800 24 7 365 or +41 58 465 33 33)

Directorate for Resources

The Directorate for Resources manages the FDFA's human, financial, logistical, IT and other resources as a centre of expertise and as a service provider.